Watch out IPOs- Silver Spring!

16 04 2008

I was busy doing some research for job hunting this week. I stumbled upon SOLARCITY. This is a pre IPO Solar installation startup which seems promising to me.

Already entrenched in different building types- residential, commercial and government. Few things that popped out:

Solar Lease: offering installation on lease to generate volume. Low initial upfront payment

Community solar programs: residents seem to buy collectively for bulk discounts from SolarCity

Free site evaluation: You can get a free site eval. Homeowners, no harm in trying this! right.

IPO: I have my doubts about when they will go IPO. Considering that the IPO market is lukewarm and tepid. My suggestion is to wait and watch for their ticker to trade on Wall street. I have no clue on the revenue $$ they are generating.

If interested, follow the link http://www.solarcity.com/

It has been a while since I wrote this post about Solar City. Not much has happened with SolarCity. However, my latest reading on energy and smart grid sector IPO tells me this:

Solyndra http://www.solyndra.com/ ( backed by equity financing) and Silver Spring Networks http://silverspringnetworks.com/ ( venture backed) are prepping up for their respective IPO’s. It has been a very quiet time otherwise on the IPO scene. These two companies may be worth watching.

I have adding to this post after a very long time. Silver Springs IPO happened in early July. I have not tracked the stock price but it must make an interesting stock to watch!

I wanted to add this bit of news for Solyndra that I read last week 9/1/2011. Solyndra closed shop and is planning to declare bankruptcy. This is one of the companies that I had marked as a potential IPO candidate. Unfortunate to hear the sad news about Solyndra (silicon valley startup backed by government grant and the bad news for solar industry.


Actions

Information

One response

3 01 2010
ryanharb

They have managed to double their revenues in the past year. I have no doubts that they will prosper.

Leave a comment